Times Square Alliance launches songwriting competition for live concert series in June


Sign up for our PoliticsNY newsletter for the latest coverage and to stay informed about the 2021 election in your district and across New York

Broadway actors will perform original coronavirus-themed songs during a series of live concerts in June.

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Times Square Alliance announced the first-ever “Songs for Our City” songwriting challenge to support artists. The challenge calls on Broadway actors and composers to create new original music while providing audiences with a unique and interactive way to enjoy new music while in-person events are on hiatus.

“As a body charged with caring for and celebrating the Theater District, this is a symbolic and simple way for us to continue to present and support the Broadway artists who create their own original work throughout. throughout the month of June, “said Tim Tompkins, president of The Times. Square alliance.

Twenty-seven artists will debut their songs in a series of free concerts broadcast live starting June 2 and ending June 21 as part of Make Music New York. The first six shows will feature attendees performing their new songs and allow audience members to vote to send one attendee from each concert to the finals. Viewers will be able to choose their favorite in the Audience Award final. A panel of judges, which will be made up of prominent Broadway and music industry leaders, will determine the overall winner.

The series will air on the Times Square Alliance website and social platforms in partnership with Time Out New York, as part of their recently launched Love Local campaign.

The series will be hosted by Broadway Buskers host and curator Ben Cameron. Participants include Alice Ripley; Ethan Slater; Rob Rokicki; Leslie Becker; Sam Carner, Derek Gregor and Selda Sahin; Jaime Cepero; Lauren Elder; Drew Gasparini; John Arthur Greene; F Michael Haynie; Marcus Paul James; Donnie Kehr; John Krause; Janet Krupin; Molly and the Memphis Thunder; Anthony Normand; Alexandre Sage Oyen; Alice Ripley; Rob Rokicki; Jennifer Sanchez; Max Sangerman; Heath Saunders; Dr Serkes; Ethan Slater; Starbird and the Phoenix; Will Taylor; Will Van Dyke and Jeff Talbott; Joël Wagoner; Mike Wartella; and Tim Young.

All entrants will receive a Times Square Alliance stipend and finalists will receive additional cash prizes. The concerts will also raise funds for the Broadway Cares / Equity Fights AIDS COVID-19 Emergency Aid Fund, which provides urgent resources to those in the performing arts community.

“Our friends in the theater community are remarkably talented, even beyond their nightly Broadway jobs, and we’ve been fortunate to have some of them share their singer-songwriter side over the past two seasons of Broadway Buskers. With the end of the performances, we wanted to find a way to support our community while providing an outlet for their incredible creative energy. We are thrilled to provide them with a platform to continue sharing their music with the world, ”said Sophie Aung, Times Square Alliance Programming Director.

The concerts will be broadcast live at 7:05 p.m. EDT on TSQ.org/Songs, immediately following the collective applause for essential workers in New York City, on the following dates:

Tuesday June 2

wednesday 3 june

Tuesday June 9

Wednesday June 10

Tuesday June 16

Wednesday June 17th

Sunday June 21

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.